European ratification of the Paris agreement starts with Hungary

Hungary formally ratified the Paris Agreement on Tuesday (May 24).

According to Climate Home, the Hungarian Parliament approved the agreement’s ratification with an unanimous vote of 160 lawmakers, becoming the first EU member state to join the UN’s climate agreement.

Hungary is also one of the few EU countries that have ratified the Doha Amendment establishing the second commitment period of the Kyoto Protocol until 2020.

Meanwhile, the French National Assembly approved the bill for the Paris Agreement ratification, on May 17. This bill is planned to be voted by the Senate on June 8, and then it will take effect. France will possibly be the second EU member state to accomplish ratification.

The ratification process of the Paris Agreement in the European Union is expected to be one of the longest, due to the fact that it needs national ratification of all 28 Member States to be completed before the EU itself can adopt the agreement.

The Paris Agreement will enter into force after the ratification by at least 55 Parties to the Convention accounting in total for at least  55 percent of the total global greenhouse gas emissions.

For the moment, globally the agreement has been ratified by 17 countries accounting for around 0,05 percent of GHG emissions.


(Image: Budapest, October 2012. Photo credit: Moyan Brenn/Flickr)